How It All Started

As I explore this new way of life, I want to share my journey with you….

If you follow me on Instagram then you have had the pleasure of being the first to know of my transition. I had been debating whether or not to cut my locs for some time. I thought I had finalized my decision to style my locs into a bob but one day, I just really had the urge to take things into my own hands. At that moment, I grabbed a pair of scissors and cut the back section of my locs to my collar bone. Once reality set in, I beccame a little nervous as I ran my hand through my locs that were no longer down to my butt. Weeks later, On May 3, I stayed home from work and became curious which resulted in me removing half of my locs!

You will never believe this BUT truth be told, I ONLY used hair pins to remove my locs…JUST HAIR PINS. I did not wet my hair nor did I use any products. Again, just hair pins! At this point I was amazed to say the least.

Although this process was so much easier than I had imagined, I realized that I did not want to finish the rest by myself.  I Googled salons in the city that used Design Essentials products (just because I knew that the company sold a natural hair care line) and began to call each one inquiring about the cost to remove my locs. The very first salon that I called didnt surprise me with the $300.00 and up price…Um NEXT! I called over 20 salons and the last salon was a hit! The lady informed me that she would charge me $85.00!!! I wish you all could have heard my conversation…”Really lady?, to take my locs down…Remove them???” When she confirmed, I asked her to put me down in her book!

I was a little skeptical just because at least 3 stylists had informed me that they would charge me anywhere between $300-$500 but I would rather have her on standby than to have nothing at all. I ended up reaching out to my girl Charity who was nice enough to help me start on the other half. We didn’t get done so I kept my appointment. That was quite an experience. I was more tired after letting her finish than when I took down half of my locs by myself. I sat in her chair from 10:00 a.m.-5:15 p.m….SMH!

After a good wash and conditioning!

My scalp was so tender! Thankfully, I did not lose a lot of hair. Part of me wishes I would have started a little longer just because my hair is sooo curly and fine which results in extreme shrinkage when wet…Pics to come.

About Joí Iman

I am a Southern Belle from Birmingham, AL. I am certainly BLESSED AND FABulous! I command attention without demanding it. I have an air of confidence, finesse, style, and originality. Each day that I am Blessed to see another day, I make it priority to be a Blessing to as many people as I can. I enjoy life and make it a point to have a good laugh daily...Im usually weak. Every day is a learning experience so enjoy the moments even when they dont feel or look good! If you are wise, you will find meaning! I am a business woman. I am passionate about Youth, Black Studies and Fashion, particularly shoes! My passions are visible each day that I am Blessed to see another day! I am embracing one of the greatest points of my life and trying to love every minute of this great adventure. :-) My professional career has included me working with children. While helping children and families is dear to my heart, It is my desire to pursue my other passion, Fashion! My Plans are not always in line with God's Plan sooo I am looking forward to what is to come for Joí Iman. I just need the perfect timing and an opportunity! This site is dedicated to strong and confident individuals who have a love for Well-Being, Fashion, Beauty, and Hair in whatever form. I am interested in who my followers are and how I may be a blessing! This is OUR Journey and I am pleased to share it with you! I want you to become the BEST you can be while embracing and maintaining an air of confidence, style, and originality! I'd love to hear from you ANYTIME...Joiimanllc@gmail.com. You can also follow me on Twitter @JoiIman. All LOVE, Muah!
This entry was posted in Hair by Joí Iman and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How It All Started

  1. MD says:

    speechless.

  2. I wish you a sweet journey. Mine has been quite difficult, now I’m braiding to see me thru

  3. I can only imagine how tender your head was. I felt like i had been in a fight after a simple blow out. You are a trooper. lol.

Leave a Reply

