Motivational Monday: Stick and MOVE

Hey Loves,

I hope your weekend was wonderful! Although my weekend was not nearly long enough, it was Blessed! A lot of teachable moments. Thank you, Lord that I had enough sense to be open to the lesson!

When life is not exactly ideal and the walls around you seem to be closing in on you, it is easy to give up. By giving up I mean to do absolutely nothing about your situation. It is just as easy to begin a new course, hobby or start working somewhere exciting. Along the way or at the end of the chapter (not your life) :-), you may discover the course may be pointless, the hobby useless and the job not so inspiring but if you aren’t doing something you’ll never make mistakes. And mistakes are essential to learning.

It was only natural for me to study social work after high school because I love helping people and serving as an advocate for youth and families. Interestingly, I am now questioning whether or not this will be my career of choice for the rest of my life. As I mentioned before, I would love to pursue my other passion which is fashion, particularly as a shoe designer (in pursuit), personal stylist, or film and TV costume designer. However, I cringe at the thought of going back to school (Sallie Mae is not forgiving, friendly, or empathetic). Therefore, I have to trust that God will either make a way for me to enter the fashion world, keep me in my field, or introduce another field that I have not considered. This does not mean that I stopped or will stop serving my community because of a roadblock. Instead,  I took a leap into the unknown and I started a blog. I now realize that I can and owe it to myself to pursue other passions while continuing a lifetime of service! Helping others is an option 24 hours a day and 365 days a year….It does not stop! 🙂

Do not give up on the things you love. So you realize that you enjoy this and that. You can do it for the rest of your life or at your leisure. Whatever path you choose, know that it is NOT impossible. Do your research…Someone has already walked down the road. If they did it so can you. It does’t matter if you fail at first. All the GREATS did many times and picked themselves up to try again until they succeeded. Those who are successful do not quit. Just make sure to take your time, do some research, test out your options and find what best suits you. Having said that, don’t worry about others. Someone you know may have finished a thesis, got engaged or married, had a baby, bought a house and applied to Graduate School in just one year….Congrats to them! That has NOTHING to do with your outcome. The point to be made is not that you are a failure at life but that everyone works at a different pace and disputing that fact is futile. Regardless, don’t be scared. There will be times when nothing goes your way and you will swear the universe is conspiring against you. You will have to make tough decisions and face the consequences of each. Although this sounds terrifying, it is also very liberating to take charge. You know yourself better than anyone so trust yourself to make the right decisions. And try to remember to be patient. Success does not happen overnight (but that doesn’t mean you can’t celebrate the little milestones (They aren’t little in my eyes). Lastly, remember you are not alone. We all go through this and we all get through it if we Stick and MOVE, Believe in ourselves and TRUST that our efforts will not be in vain.

Outstanding leaders go out of the way to boost the self-esteem of their personnel. If people believe in themselves, it’s amazing what they can accomplish. ~Sam Walton

All LOVE,

Muah!

About Joí Iman

I am a Southern Belle from Birmingham, AL. I am certainly BLESSED AND FABulous! I command attention without demanding it. I have an air of confidence, finesse, style, and originality. Each day that I am Blessed to see another day, I make it priority to be a Blessing to as many people as I can. I enjoy life and make it a point to have a good laugh daily...Im usually weak. Every day is a learning experience so enjoy the moments even when they dont feel or look good! If you are wise, you will find meaning! I am a business woman. I am passionate about Youth, Black Studies and Fashion, particularly shoes! My passions are visible each day that I am Blessed to see another day! I am embracing one of the greatest points of my life and trying to love every minute of this great adventure. :-) My professional career has included me working with children. While helping children and families is dear to my heart, It is my desire to pursue my other passion, Fashion! My Plans are not always in line with God's Plan sooo I am looking forward to what is to come for Joí Iman. I just need the perfect timing and an opportunity! This site is dedicated to strong and confident individuals who have a love for Well-Being, Fashion, Beauty, and Hair in whatever form. I am interested in who my followers are and how I may be a blessing! This is OUR Journey and I am pleased to share it with you! I want you to become the BEST you can be while embracing and maintaining an air of confidence, style, and originality! I'd love to hear from you ANYTIME...Joiimanllc@gmail.com. You can also follow me on Twitter @JoiIman. All LOVE, Muah!
This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

